Intro to Computer Systems

Study Organiser

The study materials are divided into twelve chapters; one for each week except for weeks 5 and 6 which covers both Memory/Hamming and SECDED codes and week 7 which covers both System/Peripheral Expansions.

Chapter 1: Introduction and Number Systems


Chapter 2: System Basics


Chapter 3: Digital Logic and Boolean Algebra


Chapter 4: Processors


Chapters 5 and 6: Memory and Hamming/SECDED Codes


Chapter 7a: System Expansion


Chapter 7b: Peripheral Expansion


Chapter 8: Mass Storage


Chapter 9: Power Considerations


Chapter 10: Equipment Failure


Chapter 11: Systems and Software


Chapter 12: System Integration and Overview